

Call for Paper

LAWCC2023

16-20 October 2023 Universidad Mayor de San Andrés (<u>www.umsa.bo</u>) La Paz, Bolivia

The XV LAWCC (XV Latin American Women in Computing Congress) will be held as part of the XLIX CLEI (Latin American Computer Conference). Its main objective is to highlight the research, interest and achievements of women in the various areas of computing, with the intention of encouraging the active participation of more women. In the presentation of papers, it is expected to identify the challenges of women in the areas of STEM (Sciences, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) and Information Technology and Telecommunications (ICT), in teaching, in the workplace and in investigation. It seeks to find ways to address recurring problems related to gender and interaction with society in this context.

Topics of Interest

- Analysis of the activity and participation of women in STEM (Sciences, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) and ICT (Information and Communication Technologies) in general.
- Contributions of women from STEM / ICT areas in responding to the pandemic.
- Female participation in scientific and technological events (hackathons, science clubs, etc.).
- Inclusive software development (games, apps and others) with a strong participation of women.
- Initiatives to promote gender equity in STEM / ICT.
- Experiences of women's groups / communities in STEM / ICT areas.
- Gender and Human-Computer Interaction.
- Female leadership models and ICT.
- Gender specificities in the development and implementation of ICT.
- Gender specificities in the teaching of STEM / ICT, at the 5 levels: initial, preschool, basic / primary, middle and higher education.
- Participation of women in decision-making at the national and international level in relation to the use of ICT.
- Public policies around Women and ICT.

Paper submission

Entries must be written in English, Spanish, or Portuguese, and will be reviewed by an international program committee made up of members from academia and industry.



Submissions must be made through EasyChair:https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=clei2023

Authors must select the event "XV Congress of Latin American Women in Computing".

The publication of the proceedings on CEUR.org requires that at least half of the published works be in English. If this requirement is not met, the organization of LAWCC 2023 may request the subsequent translation into English of any of the accepted works.

Review process

All articles will be subject to "single blind review" by members of the XV LAWCC Scientific Committee. Reviewers will be governed by the Código de conducta de revisores de CLEI.

Submission format

The works may be FULL PAPER (10-12 pages) or SHORT PAPER (5-9 pages), both must be sent, in PDF, in CEUR-ART format to one column. The template is available in the following file and is called "CEUR-Template-1col" http://ceur-ws.org/Vol-XXX/CEURART.zip.

Submitted articles should not be published or under review in any other national or international conference or publication. Authors must adhere to the CLEI Authors Code of Conduct (https://www.clei.org/codigo-de-conducta-para-los-autores/).

Important dates

- Receipt of contributions: April 17, 2023
- Notification of acceptance: June 26, 2023
- Reception Final Version of contributions: (Camera Ready): July 31, 2023
- In-person presentations: October 16-20, 2023, in La Paz

Publication and Indexing

All accepted papers will be published in the proceedings of the 15th LAWCC, which will be submitted to CEUR-WS.org for online publication. If published on CEUR-WS.org, the proceedings will have ISBN and will be indexed in, among others, DBLP and Scopus.

To ensure the publication of an approved article in the proceedings of the XV LAWCC, at least one of the authors will have to register for the XLIX CLEI, and the article must respect the indicated format (**CEUR-ART 1 column**) and not exceed the maximum number of pages foreseen. In addition, authors of papers that receive recommendations to improve the article must follow them before sending the final version.



Evaluation Committee Presidents

María Elena García-Díaz (UNA, Paraguay) Veronica Gil-Costa (UNSL, Argentina)

Program Committee

Alexandra Gonzalez (UTPL, Ecuador) Alicia Garcia Holgado (USAL, España) Ana Aguilera Faraco (UV, Chile) Ana Maguitman (UNS, Argentina) Andrea Delgado (UdelaR, Uruguay) Beatriz Perez (UNSL, Argentina) Carina González (ULL, España) Carlos Juiz (UIB, España) Carlos A. Brizuela (CICESE, México) Carlos H. Núñez C. (UPA, Paraguay) Christian Von Lücken (UNA, Paraguay) Cindy Esquivel (UPA, Panamá) Claudia Bauzer M. (UNICAMP, Brasil) Cristhian Parra T. (PNUD, Paraguay) Cristina Manresa (UIB, España) Daniel Romero (UCOM, Paraguay) Diana F. Adamatti (UFRG, Brasil) Diego P. Pinto-Roa (UNA, Paraguay) Dolores Rexachs (UAB, España) Donna Roper (UP, Panamá) Elaine Almeida (UFAL, Brasil) Elisa Heymann (UAB, España) Emilio Luque Fadon (UAB, España) Fabio Vargas (TDEA, Colombia) Gabriela Marin (UCR, Costa Rica) Genoveva Vargas S. (CNRS, Francia) Germania Rodríguez (UTPL, Ecuador) Helena Gómez A. (UNAM, México) Idalmis Milián S. (UFRN. Brasil) Irene Loiseau (UBA, Argentina) Joberto Barbosa M. (UNIFACS, Brazil)

José A. Riveros I. (UNA, Paraguay) José D. Colbes (UNA, Paraguay) José L. Vázguez N. (UNA, Paraguay) Josilene Aires (UFPB, Brasil) Karla S. Dos Santos P. (UFAM, Brasil) Kelly Rosa Braguetto (USP, Brasil) Laura Tardivo (UNRC, Argentina) Leticia Cagnina (UNSL, Argentina) Luciana Bolan F. (UFSC, Brasil) Luisa M. Jimenez R. (POLI, Colombia) Magna Monteiro (UNA, Paraguay) Marcela Varas (UDEC, Chile) Maria Estrada (UTPL, Ecuador) Maria E. Urguhart (UdelaR, Uruguay) Mario G. Piattini V. (UCLM, España) Maristela Holanda (UnB, Brasil) Nilda Yangüez C. (UTPL, Panamá) Nora Reyes (UNSL, Argentina) Nora Szasz (ORT, Uruguay) Norma Herrera (UNSL, Argentina) Olga Mariño (UNIANDES, Colombia) Paula Verghelet (UBA, Argentina) Rafael A. García G. (POLI. Colombia) Regina Motz (UdelaR, Uruguay) Romina Molina (UniTS, Italia) Rosa I. Arriaga (GATECH, USA) Samanta Cueva (UTPL, Ecuador) Shalini Ramchandani (USACH, Chile) Silvana V. Aciar (UNSJ. Argentina) Soraya Carrasquel (USB, Venezuela) Yamilet Serrano (UTEC, Perú) Yusneyi Carballo (UCV, Venezuela)